I saw this video a few days ago, and since I don’t like to post things that I think you’ve already seen, I decided not to show it to you. But then I realized that most of you don’t sit on a computer all day and might have missed it. Plus, it’s the coolest/craziest thing I think I’ve ever seen from a football game, and if you have seen it, you probably wouldn’t mind seeing it again. If this is your first time, don’t try to understand it. Your brain will explode.
Oh, and if you’re wondering what this has to do with Auburn, check that kicker’s name.
Here’s the explanation (courtesy of Yahoo! Sports):
Rule 3, Section 2, Article 4: (paraphrased) If a field goal attempt misses, the kicking team can score one point if it recovers the ball in its own end zone or if the ball goes out of the back of the end zone.
Rule 1, Section 3: (paraphrased) A field goal attempt stays alive if it is touched by a member of the opposing team.
Rule 5, Section 1, Article 6: (paraphrased) An eligible player may kick the ball at any time to advance it to the other team.
According to a Canadian friend of mine, here’s what happened: The Montreal Alouettes missed the field goal. Because they would get a point if they recovered the ball in the end zone (or if it went out of the back of the end zone), a Toronto player caught it and punted it away (lest he get tackled with it in the end zone, which also would have resulted in points). It happened to go right back to the Montreal kicker, who booted it again, hoping to get the “rogue” (a single point) by getting it out of the end zone. This time, a player on the Argonauts recovered it. But before he could advance it out of the end zone, he fumbled the ball and the Alouettes recovered it in the scrum in the end zone, thus scoring a touchdown.
I say the NCAA adopts these rules now. Think of the fun Les Miles could have with that.